British Library streams 1,000 classical recordings online

I was thrilled to see this article about the British Library streaming 1,000 classical recordings online via the British Library Archival Sound Recordings project.

Andrea-Marie Petrou, Computeract!ve reports that the online collection includes “previously unheard concertos and sinfoniettas from composers such as Bach” and also “orchestral suites and concerti by Haydn, Beethoven, Mozart and Brahms.”

The streamed (not downloadable) recordings are available to British Library patrons in the BL reading rooms as well as via remote access.

Petrou concludes that the “two-year project has been funded by the Joint Information Systems Committee“.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s