This librarian supports the Ada Initiative

Feral Librarian

Donate to the Ada Initiative

TheAda Initiativesupports women in open technology and culture through activities such as producingcodes of conduct and anti-harassment policies,advocating for gender diversity,teaching ally skills, and hostingconferences for women in open tech/culture.Most of what we create is freely available, reusable, and modifiable under Creative Commons licenses.

If that isn’t enough to explain why I support the Ada Initiative and why I think other librarians should too, let me tell you just one story about how the Ada Initiative has been important to me.

A little over a year ago, I decided that I not going to speak at or support any conference that did not have a code of conduct. Then, in a fit of bravada, I decided to ask my boss, the University Librarian, to issue a statement encouraging ALL of our librarians to take the same stance and…

View original post 196 more words

Leave a Reply

