feminism and the collective collection

Feral Librarian

Text of my talk at BLC Networking Day 2015 below:

title slide: feminism & collective collection title slide: feminism & collective collection
I guess I should start by explaining my title a bit.

Here’s the deal -In April of this year, a paper I co-authored with Stanford colleague Bess Sadler, titled Feminism and the Future of Library Discovery was published in code4lib journal. It got a lot of great feedback and in general was pretty well-received. So of course, I joked on twitter that I clearly needed to title everything I wrote now on “feminism and …”

So when I was asked to give one of the keynotes today for the Boston Library Consortium Networking Day, I had no choice but to talk about “Feminism and the collective collection.”

I’m kidding, of course, well mostly kidding.

I’m talking about the collective collection because that’s sort of what we are about as libraries right now –…

View original post 2,951 more words

Leave a Reply

